Election Day

Voting opened at 7.00 am for the General Election. I was at the polling station at 9.30 to cast my vote. I didn't get a voting card this time (perhaps I did, though, and inadvertently threew it out along with the junk mail which had accumulated in the porch). Anyway, I went along armed with passport, a print-out from the check-the-register web site, and the usual "utility bill". It didn't take long to mark my one, two, three on the ballot paper and drop it into the box, after whicb ti was time to return home and have a nice breakfast.

For some time now, neither candidates nor campaigners are not allowed to pester voters outside polling stations, but there's nothing to stop every available lamp post and traffic light pillar being festooned with electioneering posters on the approaches. Because of the extraordinary circumstances leading up to this election, the number of indeendent candidates is much greater than usual. People Before Profit is a nicely emotive name, I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.