Unkempt

'Unkempt' - it's a strange word, and one not often used, I'd say. It was the first word that sprang to mind when I came across this house while out on my walk today. I woke around 5.00 am to find a covering of damp snow on roofs and cars, and didn't think there'd be much chance of fitting in a walk at all. But things improved as the day progressed, so out I went for forty minutes or so, just for a bit of a short circuit close to home.

This house looked as if it's empty. Certainly, there was no sign of life around, and the inside had an uninhabited look to it from what could be seen through the windows. I couldn't help feeling sorry for the semi-detached neighbour, whose place was immaculate. Who knows what the story behind the situation is? Perhaps somebody died and there's nobody left to pass the house on to. Or maybe it was let out and the people staying in it didn't look after it, the owners had difficulty getting the tenants out, and now they can't afford to make the place good. It's all a bit sad and sorry-looking, whatever the explanation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.