Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

St David's Day

Spring bulbs are few and far between in Riverside but they can be found if you know where to look.

Last week I saw a few daffodils growing in the front yard of a house on College Street. With today being St David's Day, the patron saint of Wales, a shot of one of these flowers was an obvious choice for my blip.

The Welsh wear either a daffodil or a leek in their buttonholes to mark St David's Day.

A lot can happen in a week. Out of roughly a dozen daffodils scattered across this front garden, only one was still in its prime and worthy of a photograph. A stiff breeze blowing did not help when it came trying to get the daffodil in focus but out of seven attempts, two were sharp.

I have always had a strong affinity for Wales and its landscape. As a youngster, countless school holidays were spent in North Wales and over the years I came to appreciate its scenery, the mountains and valleys, the coastline and estuaries.

In adult life, I sensed there was something special about North Wales. I always felt at one with the place, as if it was my spiritual home.

And then of course there are the stirring Welsh songs -- Men of Harlech, Cwm Rhondda and the Welsh National Anthem, Mae Hen Wlad Fy Nhadu (The Land of My Fathers).

While processing this shot, I had Bryn Terfel and the Orchestra of the Welsh National Opera playing in my headphones.

To Welsh men and women everywhere, Happy St David's Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.