Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Fire Engine Cab

Headed down to McDuff Avenue today. It has been quite some time since I last visited the area. I had a chat with Fred the glazier whose portrait featured on here several months ago.

The turntable fire engine of Jacksonville Fire & Rescue Department's Station 10 was parked in partial view. Fire engines always seem to make for good images, with all the equipment, machinery and dials. I took a couple of close-up shots of the turntable and walked on. It was only when I turned back that I spotted the gleaming door of the cab and the reflection contained within it. I had a feeling then that this shot was going to be my blip for today.

Hot Tuna? Well the acoustic set frankly bored me to tears. I enjoyed a number co-written by Robert Hunter. Isn't it funny how I always like anything connected with the Grateful Dead?

When Jorma Kaukonen announced that the audience looked like one that would enjoy a polka and it would be the last number of the first set, I knew it was time to head to the bar to beat the rush.

I said to my wife, "When Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady were dropping acid in 1969, allegedly, I wonder if they envisaged playing polkas in later life?"

She laughed.

During the intermission, I stood outside the Florida Theatre to bring my nicotine level up to par and happened to notice a familiar face. I have a good memory for faces. Once seen, never forgotten. Now, names are altogether quite a different matter.

I had to find out if my supposition was true. So I walked up to the elderly guy, balding and with a well-worn face, and said " Aren't you the guy who came up from the audience to play bass with Flo & Eddie?"

I was correct and he congratulated me for my good memory.

It was Jim Pons, bassist with The Turtles and later Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention. We chatted for a few minutes and then it was time to head back into the theatre for the second set. The full story can be found at Tea With Calvin.

With Gibson Les Pauls and Fender Telecasters plugged in, the second half of the show was much more to my liking, although the sound balance was not right. With two electric guitars and an electric mandoling laying down some searing licks, the drums, particularly the cymbals, were inaudible.

Jorma Kaukonen plays a mean axe but, for me, the star of the show was ageing bluesman Charlie Musselwhite. His blues harp playing was outstanding and his vocal numbers went down a treat.

So, in the end, it turned out a good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.