Bird on a Boat

Not as adventurous as yesterday in walking terms, but sdtill managed to get out and about. Not much further progress on the quarterly mag, so I was free as could be after lunch, which happily coincided with a clearing away of the cloud cover which had lingered on all morning.

Walked to Killester and DARTed to Howth. No matter how many times I wander around the harbour and the piers there, I always get a great kick out of it. I lost my middle-pier virginity this time, though, apart from a few photo ops, it's really no great shakes in terms of being a rewarding place to stroll. What with here and then on from there to the start of the main pier I came home with over 100 shots, so it was productive in blip terms. That has its own ramifications, of course, and it took a while to pick a blip from the bunch. There's no point linking to rejects, since that'd only make me doubt my final choice all over again.

Before sorting through the pics I kept in tocuh with live coverage of the Apple special event from San Francisco. I'm busily drooling over the new iPad 2. Whatever about the yoke itself, I gotta say I'm especially taken by the Smart Cover: very nifty.

Later on, I couldn't credit the news of the amazing win by the Irish cricket team in the World Cup in India. It wasn't just the fact of the win, of course: winning against England, the anciient enemy, made it all the sweeter. Then to watch the highlghts later on and to learn of Kevin O'Brien's batting himself into the history books! Almost enough to take your mind off the economic doom and gloom.

Big Bird

p.s.
I've done some more back-blipping, filling the ugly blip gap from January:
Annual quiz
Walk and cycle
Not here, you don't!
Sodden tourists
Chalk & Cheese reading
Autumnal hedge
Bit of kit
Accidental abstract

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.