Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Free book giveaway: World Book Night 2011

The photo was rather a hurried choice, one of several I could have chosen, but as I was fairly tired at the end of a long day I decided that this was probably the one that summed up our event.

Our book group put on the event as a way of celebrating World Book Day, which I understand from one or two blipping acquaintances, is not WORLD book day at all but is probably only UK book day. This book of poems written by UK poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy is a subversive view of many of the great characters from myth, literature and history, seen from the point of view of their wife. So we have characters such as Mrs Icarus, Mrs Mydas, Mrs Faust, Mrs Freud.

A, who helps provide some focus for our `book group', chose the book and wondered what kind of reception it might get from our audience. Well my impression was that it was well received.

We served tea and cakes (or at least three members of our group did - a touch of the royal we here as I was taking photos and welcoming people at the door). I did manage to make a chocolate cake, probably the first I've made in at least fifteen years, and it was very popular too. (I gave up making cakes, but not, unfortunately, eating them when I started putting on weight at around 50!)

It seemed to be a very successful event, around fifty people turned up and they wanted to know when we were going to do it again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.