wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Bloomin' marvellous

Walking home today, I wandered up the road idly thinking about what to blip today. Perhaps there'd be a good sunset now we're heading into autumn? Or perhaps a whatisit? Pippin's been getting a photo work out, so give him a rest. How about heading down to the docks to try to get a shot of the Sea Shepherd. Well really, should have remembered that while I was in town and near the wharf, not on a bus out of it... But I rounded a corner, and there was this, just waiting for me.

I can't remember the name of this tree, but it's some kind of a red flowering gum, and the blossoms are beautiful. This photo does their colour no justice at all, but it's a try... And then there's the combi. Who doesn't love a battered, orange v-dub? It's a juxtaposition of old and new, of red and orange, of nature and man. :P

Paid off more of my shiny new camera today, am really hoping that this time next week it will be in my hands. Should probably try to get lots of work done before that, because I'm going to be as distracted as anything when I get it.

The Sea Shepherd's docked in Hobart (if you hadn't already surmised that from my above comment), and town is full of people looking like they've just sent the Japanese whalers packing. Which is funny, since that's what they did. Maybe tomorrow I'll remember to go and have a sticky beak.

And that's about it really. Weather's meant to be fine and dandy dandy this week, standard for March really. Our lecturer managed to confuzzle us all well and proper this morning, and I now have less understanding about relevance of evidence than I had before. The textbook finally arrived at the bookshop, however, so perhaps things will become clear when I read that. Perhaps... The crickets are chirrupping, I have no classes until Thursday, my novel is pretty good, the sun is shining. I think it's time for a cup of tea in the sun. I may even be able to bribe myself into productivity with a novel-textbook chapter by chapter arrangement...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.