Over and done with

The letter I got confirming the biopsy appointment warned me to expect to be three hours in the hospital, so I was very surprised when the doctor said the good news was that the procedure would only take ten minutes or so. That was true for the actual procedure (not a very pleasant expereince), but what took the time was the waiting around afterwards in order to ensure I wasn't going to faint or anything. I sat in the little waiting area outside the ultrasound facility for twenty minutes afterwards and then, as instructed, went to the hospital restaurant for a bite to eat and a bit of further recovery time.

The doctor took me through things in some detail to begin with, explaining what he'd be doing and repeating what the urologist had said about the small likelihood (1 in 100) of infection setting in afterwards. When he'd finished what he had to do, he went to describe to me what symptoms would be apparent if infection did occur, and gave me a cover letter to produce at A & E if needs be.

I'd been up since 5.00 am preparing for the biopsy, made a point of being early for my 8.00 am appointment (the waiting area in the x-ray department was empty and the desk was unmanned), and didn't get back home until 11.00, so the first thing I did was go back to bed. I went on to spend the day lazily, avoiding work and reading the pot-bioler book I'd bought to while away the waiting-afterwards time in the hospital.

I'm due to see my GP on Monday to review my cholesterol and to update him about the prostate situation. Then in two weeks I'll get the biopsy result when I see the urologist again. Fingers crossed for good news then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.