A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

River Leasgeary

This is the Isle of Skye. Why do we live here? Frankly, I don't know. In the summer there are Midges; In the winter the days are short and we get a lot of strong wind: Of course in the summer the day are very long: occasionally the sun shines: Often it is raining.

Skye is one of those places, either you love it or you hate it. Many come here and enjoy a good holiday. Most look forward to getting home. Me, well I came here to get married. Not a local lass but one whose family love Skye and moved here shortly before we got married.

We spent a few years in Surrey and later moved to the central belt of Scotland. A few years after that we moved here to Skye. I was unemployed, we bought an old Crofthouse which I renovated. We had our family here and have come to love Skye like no other place I know.

It rains a lot. There are midges in the summer which eat you alive. I honestly don't think you'll like it, so don't feel you have to move here. Just visit my page occasionally and enjoy a few well chosen 'Blips'. ( Perhaps one or two not so well chosen ones too!)

The bridge is part of a public footpath which I like to walk sometimes. As you can see it has been raining again so there is a rush of water under the bridge. The sun peaked out momentarily enhancing the colours. You may also note how dark and forbidding the skye is beyond the trees. More rain to come.

Hey, maybe, like me, you will come here and love it! Don't be put off by me. Come and experience Skye for yourself. Come on, you too could love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.