The best night in a tent. ever.

We woke up at 7:30. Raising to an upright position, i.e. to sit, I felt that it began snowing. inside the tent.

And it did. All the moisture had frozen within the inner tent - the temperature was rather chilly, -24C when we woke up.

Morning routines and there we were, skis on and anxiously starting the next leg. The previous night heard that some might keep drinking too little on a hike. I decided to make my part on that - on every break I went and offered a drink. And cookies. To people near by.

A lesson to be learnt - especially for a guide. How much caring, how much attention is too much? As a guide I would've crossed the line. As a friend, nowhere near. Luckily I wasn't the guide for the day (Paula and Hannu were).

We arrived to the next hut somewhat after noon. Started to warm up the hut, boiling water and making sauna ready. Then we also discussed how the previous day went.

Me being who I am, I often like to praise people for a reason. And that's what I did.

In the evening we went to a sauna. Relaxing, yet I was a bit concerned of washing my face and all the grease which would protect my face from the cold weather the day after. Anyhow, sauna it was.

In the discussion of the day, I had a few words about leadership and especially about how to show example. That's rather important for a guide, I'd say.

A few words regarding to leadership in the evening - what else?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.