Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Visit to Belsay

I met my friend, E, today at Belsay. It was quite cold, but we were lucky that the weather stayed fine and bright while we walked around the gardens. I love Belsay at any time of year. Today the snowdrops were still out, aconites and crocuses going over, early rhodedendrons in bloom, daphnes in bloom and lots of promise of what is to come, with tiny buds starting to burst open.

This image was taken in the quarry garden. As I was preparing to take the image, the wind suddenly whipped up and disturbed the reflection in the small pool. Looking at this on screen I think it has produced an ambiguous abstract image. You could almost be looking at a mountain through a gap in rocks, with a layer of gauze softening the view. I like the colours too.

Tonight attended a splendid evening to launch the John Martin Heritage Festival in Haydon Bridge. We heard some beautiful singing of North Eastern songs by Ellen Murphy, followed by a lively lecture from Max Adams. Outside the snow was falling heavily - hope it doesn't freeze overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.