Beach Fun

A somewhat uninspiring north-easterly in Christchurch today, onshore breeze and cludy, not the sort of day you'd think of going to the beach. But we did, at Tumbledown Bay, one of the southern bays of Banks Peninsula.

Weather cleared as we left Christchurch, stopped off at Little River for a coffee and to pick up a painting I bought last year, and then off to the beach. Absolute gem of a place. Great bay, sheltered, hardly anyone there. A real find. We were there with friends, however Hilary was off in the northern suburbs of Christchurch helping a friend clean up her home. Good on her, glad however it was my day on with the kids ;-) .

The plan was to bike back, but it got a little late, and besides, I think I am going to have to abandon my plans of the race I have been aiming for. Timetable is too tight, especially given current pressures at work post-earthquake. I can't really afford any more time off.

Not to worry, I'll find another event to motivate me, and the consolation prize is 10 days in Samoa anyway, so it's not all bad.

Good to have a day (mostly) not thinking about earthquakes. However we didn't let the kids play near the rock cliffs, where there was evidence of rock fall after the most recent event. Yep, risk assessment is a pretty standard routine these days.

Looks better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.