Lake Hawea

Big day today.

Leisurely flight at 9am, enroute to Queenstown,. And what a cracker day. Lots of fab photos, Mt Cook, the Motatapu Valley I rode last weekend, and all the lakes, including this one, Lake Hawea. It's actually not the best photo, but most significant as this is the rote of the rave I'll be doing in late April. Start at the top green dot, out to the right hand one and cross the river, then down to Hawea bottom left. All up 95 gruelling kilometres.

Anyway, arrived in Queenstown, had coffee with a client, then lunch with another, then off to Invercargill.

Check-in to my hotel, then down to Bluff where I did the usual tourist stuff, in fact it's not so usual, not nearly enough people come here! Stirling point to see the "end of the road" and the sign, then a cruise around town looking for the best place to by posters, then, on my bike to mountain bike Bluff. Yes indeed, there is a track here. And not a bad one it turns out. Short and not a lot of vertical, but unique. So pleased to have ridden it.

Then down to the local Takeaways (I'd earned it) and an order of Blue cod and oysters, which I washed down with some nice sauvignon blanc while watching the fishing boats in the harbour. Sublime.

Back to the hotel, writing a presentation for tomorrow. And bed.

Great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.