wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Wanderlust

Dear Everyone At Home,

It is with great sorrow I write to inform you of terrible news. Although only recently returned to your company, I have again fallen ill to the disease Wanderlust, or the 'travel bug' as it is commonly known. It has long been recognised that in times of great pressure, the human either fights or flights, and I myself adhere to the latter of these tendencies.

I find myself constantly craving new knowledge and experiences, especially in the fields of historical studies and geography. My attention span has shortened, my browser history lengthened with international news, and my walls display an increasing number of maps.

I shall fight this illness with all my willpower, but have been given only 10-16 months before I must surely succumb. I fear that this shall be a trying time, as I must overcome the distractions of Google Earth, travel websites, and all other influences that show me lands beyond my own. This must be done, otherwise I shall not succeed in my university studies, and must continue them longer, thus stretching out the fight.

There is no known cure for Wanderlust. Like malaria, it is forever in one's system and a relapse may occur at anytime. In my case, there is even uncertainty about what exactly will help - travel or habitation in new places, work, study or mere sightseeing. The remedial locations are also unknown, but it is hoped that the visiting of familiar people in different countries may ease the symptoms. The required dosage is yet to be determined, but it is hoped that only a short sojourn will be required to alleviate the symptoms.

In the meantime, I must content myself with creating maps of destinations, keeping abreast with international news, and studying hard so that I might sooner be treated for this condition.

All I request from you is patience, support and your prayers.

Yours sincerely,
The Eternal Traveller





I had every intention of just photographing my google map with all my 'want to visit' labels, but then this one happened. I love this map - the Magna Carta Mundi, it's a beautiful combination of two of my favourite things in the world - history and the world.

Edit: I forgot to add that the shop is closed today, so no camera for me to play with yet. Have been forced to do what I promised myself I wouldn't do - study on my long weekend, but I know I'm not going to get any work done tomorrow when I do have the camera...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.