wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

In the lines' den

I always think that if we ever move, and don't repaint the walls, the next owners of our house are going to wonder why there's so many pencil lines all over the walls. Some rooms, especially mine, have little lines and crosses all over the walls. They're signs of the evolution of my room - from a baby's room especially built when I was born, to a bookworm student's room with a need for a lot of bookshelves. The walls are covered in blu tack marks, and little holes from nails and drawing pins. There's unidentified marks, a couple of shoe prints on the ceiling from insect eradication, and I'm sure if I looked hard enough in the corners, I'd find the remnants of a squashed bug or two. Behind this mirror you can me getting taller, as the nail holes move up the wall.

My Dad takes handymanning seriously - today's shot was discovered when he moved my whiteboard from one wall to another. Such a process, for a small whiteboard probably only requiring a couple of nails, involves electric drills, levels, wall plugs, philips head screws, schmancy screwdrivers, and a lot of lines drawn to make sure it's just right. I don't mind, I know it's being done right. It will be level, secure, and in exactly the right place. It just makes the walls look a bit funny.

It may not be the most interesting photo ever, but I like the story these lines tell about the walls. These may have been from when my bookshelves were put up (Dad had been nagging to let him cover one wall with shelves, I held out, thinking it would make my small room feel smaller. Finally gave in when the stacks on my floor were just getting ridiculous, on the condition I had shelves over my door like a proper library. Have never seen him getting to and from the hardware store so quickly before. Have also never regretted getting the shelves.) Or perhaps from the last time he put up my whiteboard.



In other news, I went for a run today. Anyone who knows me will know what a miracle that is. But I get fractious, fidgety, and can't sleep properly when I don't exercise, so sometimes desperate measures are required. Might keep at it though, was following one of those 'couch to 5k' podcasts that tells you when to walk and run. Also, I'm really hoping the camera shop is open tomorrow (it's a public holiday, so you never really know) so I can go and pay off and collect my camera.

If you got this far, well done. Twelve stars, and a high five. Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.