wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

I done it

Finally, after weeks of indecision, of swapping money in and out of my savings account (I'm surprised they haven't arrested me for laundering yet), of playing with everyone's phones, I've finally ordered myself an iPhone 4S. I always swore I'd never get one, but that was when small phones were still an option, and I didn't need one for maps, facebook and emails. I shouldn't feel defensive, but I still do, because I know some members of my family and friends will tell me how terribly common it is, how other brands are so much better, how iPhones are all about the brand now. But to that I say poo. For too long I've been manipulating iSync to make it work, and I find android just a bit too messy for the neat freak (deep) inside me. I just (think I) like the iPhone better than the others. So nyah.

I had to buy it outright so it was unlocked and not bound for 24 months on a contract - that gets complicated when I hope to go overseas long term later in the year. And I could have waited for the 5, which will hopefully be a little more ethical than its predecessors, but quite frankly I'm getting a bit sick of having a phone that just switches off at unpredictable moments due to a dodgy connection somewhere - I can whack it against the desk and it'll be fine, but push it into my pocket and it goes off. Then I'll tap it lightly down and it'll be off, throw it across the room and it'll stay on. The number of times I've realised it's been off all afternoon... And that's just not cool when I'm supervising youth group every week, and have to be contactable by parents.

Rant over. I'm getting an iPhone, some will cheer, some will hiss, some will wave their Nokia 3330 brick in the air triumphantly as old tech stoichly plods on. And I'll wait by the letterbox, hoping it will arrive today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.