Five things

By fivethings

It hardly ever happens

1. Blue skies and sunshine filling the room all afternoon. Moving West Wing-style down corridors and being stopped in my tracks by the sight of this sunset. It made me forget my rush, put a lid on the urgency and switch off my computer. The evening drew to a gentle close.

2. A lunch up the hill with Colin, who helped me out so much today. I started the day with a problem. It's really something to have even just one or two people in my life who will bail me out, fix my messes and have my back. The problem that I started with just vanished.

3. Coming out of a buliding and finding a bus stop right outside, the right change for the bus just as it arrived, meeting a smiling driver, a mannerly man ahead of me in the queue, and a bottom deck totally mad banjo free.

4. Arriving home with a bag full of tasty, healthy food that makes a meal in no time, beers in the fridge and finding a packet of Rolos that I'd forgotten about.

5. My internal song shuffle is stuck on King Creosote today. It started with Leslie and moved to Favourite Girl and now I'm on the song I call Morag's song. Last year we went to the Homegame Halloween party and got an invite to a wee gig where KC was recording a live album upstairs in the wee hall in Anstruther. There were maybe only 50 or so others there and around half way through he played a song and dedicated it to Morag, who we were with. It was one of the most moving and surprising moments I've known and I know I am lucky to have been there. I'm pretty sure that hardly ever happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.