Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Perfect weather

The weather today was wonderful. I set out to do a recce for a walk I'm leading in the Haltwhistle Festival. I know the area fairly well - or I thought I did.........read on!

I started at the Kirkstyle Inn, did a loop south, then walked north on the Pennine Way (and Maidens Way). The views were breathtaking and the sky was busy with curlews, lapwings and skylarks. The lapwings have started to tumble - that wonderful display they do before mating.

This shot was taken looking north. From my position in the South Tyne Valley you can see the course of Hadrian's Wall along the dramatic whin sill. It looks nearer than it is due to the telephoto lens.

After Lambley I "mislaid" the path. I enjoyed scrambling around near the river and climbed up through the wood confident I would soon see the correct footpath. No such luck. Lots of exploring, climbing gates and general plodging about took a lot of time. I wasn't lost but I was very happy when I finally found the lane to Eals and back to the car. I'll have to go back and sort the correct route out another day. Hope the weather is half as good.

Remember there are still lots of places to book for the Haltwhistle Walking Festival and I promise to know the routes by then!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.