My Angle

By myangle

Personal Demon

Today and for the next 18 months I need to face my demon(s) without losing my cool. Not easy for me.

Yesterday was yet another low point in a low point strewn two and a half years of working where I do.

Strange as it might sound I do enjoy my work. I don't like the person I work for. Respect is earned and in my case I have seen too much evidence of a lack of regard for staff and clients alike. I wonder how he sleeps at night.

At 39 I have, like many people, had a number of jobs and a few career changes in my working life. The people I have worked for have earned my respect or dislike in varying degrees. This employer is head and shoulders above the worst.

Sungsam gave me some good advice on yesterdays blip. Get out. Unfortunately it is a bit more complicated than that. As an adult apprentice I would have to break my contract. That would involve a bit of mudslinging in a number of directions. Against a seasoned campaigner I might not come out without some of the mud sticking. Word gets around. Lots of apprentices and tradesmen have been and gone in the time that I have worked there. I take some pride in the fact that I have lasted this long. Getting out would be like giving up too. I don't want him to think he can break me. No chance there. Hell will freeze over before that happens. I think I will take some satisfaction away knowing that I got through it.


So, I will stick it out, if I can, doing whatever is reasonably asked of me. Nothing more, nothing less. That does go against the grain with me but I will give the "nothing more" part a go. Who knows, I might like it.

Roll on the weekend. Short day today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.