Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Another one bites the dust

That's yet another lenten resoution up in flames ( and just to prove my point the candle steps in to do the job), in fairness I managed nearly two weeks with no alcohol. I know, I know I need to tell it to the judge!!Every year I manage at least ten days in Lent, one year I will manage.

The girls had a very last minute invite to a party today and I was left with a two hour gap to fill. I contemplated a run but whilst I am passionate about running, I am not obsessional and as I am right on track with my training for the ultra run in July I decided one day off wouldn't hurt...

Anyone else noticed how I am making this a very long and rambling case for the jury to consider!!

So this is me in a brilliant Ale House in Saltaire called Fanny's. I was waiting for my friend Steve ( who was late as he was taking photographs en route for FaceBook: I have taught him the error of his ways and guided towards Blip! ). This pub is steeped in character, it feels like a two up two down house and that's because it is. This is the house that John Peel's wife grew up in , it was a home and a milliners. When John Peel died there was talk of his record collection being housed here as part of a living museum.This hasn't happened yet. At the moment, it remains a quaint olde worlde pub that has lots of unusual beers, I always have a raspberry or strawberry beer here, one is enough.

The character of the pub comes out in the woodwork and the cliched, but none the less effective ,candles in bottles trickery.

I love it here, I don't come often enough.

It was a pleasant couple of hours that I needed as I had been doing a very convincing impression of an exhausted and horrible Mum today, I am not Mother Theresa and some days you just need a temporary break

I got one and all is well with the world again. I had a rest, the girls had a party, I think its sofa and TV for a while now for us all.

Hope you have all had a good Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.