Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Modern Industrial

I had a vision this morning. Modern. Industrial. Full frame utilizing metal, concrete and steel. And a beautiful subject of course. One of my best friends. Pregnant friends. Professional Photographer pregnant friends. And possibly (hope I'm not letting the cat out of the bag), soon to be blipper.

Our families met downtown at the Convention Center. A local apparel store was having a 'blow-out' weekend sale and it started today. A huge room full of boxes. Boxes full of clothes. Shirts, pants, shorts, skirts, shoes, scarves, jackets, and vests. I spotted the vest right away. The vest was meant to wear me. Or I was meant to wear the vest. Either way, I did walk out today with a brand new hooded vest. And a few other other cute finds.

Before we headed out to our cars, we spotted this backdrop. Large windows set against a light gray concrete wall. This was going to be an 'out of the box' kind of shot for me. I am very comfortable photographing subjects up close but not from a distance. When you shoot from a distance, there are so many other factors that come into place. Lines, direction, reflections, focal point, overall composition. It is something that I want to explore more in the next several months.

And photographing a Professional Photographer? Yes, a bit daunting. But a wonderful challenge. In the ten minutes that it took for us to create this mini photo shoot, I feel like I gained a much clearer perspective of this type of photography. We worked together coming up with a few different angles. The pose of her sitting up on the ledge was her idea. Believe me, I did not ask an eight month pregnant woman to hop up on a six foot ledge. I promise! I'm happy with the photographs from today. They are all edited and I can't wait to email them to her tomorrow. Photography is such a continual learning process and I absolutely love every single part of it.

And a special thank you to Party of 5 for hosting such a fun pizza night for all of us tonight. The perfect ending to a delightful day. Oh and to blipfoto, I'm loving the new 'store' that you've created. The shirt that says, "Blippers do it once a day" is a crack up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.