Appreciation

By Appreciation

Is Anyone Listening?

Day Two of the Exchange and I have tried the Macro Setting - utterly useless and incredibly blurred even when tripoded, and the Sunset setting - way too much glare and no definition. How quickly I am missing being able to control the light that seeps into the camera when I adjust the shutter and aperture. How quickly I am also realising that perhaps I know a bit more than I think about this lark. Now there is a surprise.

However, I have tried this shot before with my DSLR and haven't managed to get it so good. I have been envious of the yellow glow Scarlet has to some of her shots, and I think today I picked some of it up in this.

It's been a day - a week really - of lots of talking, lots to talk about, instructions, requests, general where, what, when, why, but much more than usual. Often people only hear what they want to from what's being said, and often it feels like they have not been listening. Or, are they doing their best and trying to couch it in a more positive tone? Interesting.

We have oodles of these blasted earphones in the house. They lie around in every room. We have earphones for i-pods, mp3s, phones. We have earphones for laptops, for televisions, and for cooker - no that must be wrong.

We have big shiny blue ones and big shiny green ones. We have small green ones, ones with pink tips, clear ones, white ones, black ones, broken ones. They are always tangled and mangled. They live on sofas, kitchen tables, in pockets, bags, boxes. Yet with all these earphones, which channel the sound directly into your inner eardrum I ask you, Is anyone really Listening?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.