Against the Sky

I fully intended doing a repeat blip similar to Daffodil Day last year, and I did finally track down Mr Daffodil Man and did blip him. Conditions weren't the best for a decent shot, though, because I'd looked out for him earlier, hadn't seen him, none of the other collectors I enquired from knew where he was, and when I did catch up with him his pitch was in the shade. Well done once again, James, on a sterling fund-raising effort (all the more so this year because of my own news from Wednesday).

I'd been at Beaumont hospital (yet again -- I seem to be living in the place these days) for a cholesterol blood test at 11.30 and then went in to meet my mate Simon who's been over from the UK for his sister-in-law's funeral. When he heard my news he suggested meeting for lunch, and we did that today. We had good crack and decent food in Pasta Fresca on Chatham Street and I walked back to their hotel with him and Bernie, his wife, and Adam, their son. At one stage we thought we'd lost Adam, but he'd just dashed across the road, his eye having been caught by a poster cleverly advertising The Vinyl Frontier. Later on, Adam's eagle eye made a connection between a doorway near City Hall and a certain Number 10 in London.

We made out farewells around 3.30 and I went in search of James the Daffodil Man. I'd no sooner parted with the others than I looked up and rather liked the look of this brightly painted wall against the wonderful clear blue sky. I was anxious to have something in the can in case I didn't find James, and now this quick spur-of-the-moment point and shoot has turned into today's blip. (As usual, looks better bigger.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.