Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Yorkshire Sculpture Park - Sneak Preview

A change of venue today to the YSP, where I met up with my mum & dad, their choice, and one they probably felt freer to make as my brother was unwell and not with them.

The sculpture park is set in the landscaped grounds of Bretton Hall (where I did my B.Ed Hons) and is a stunning setting to display sculpture. A notice announced that the park has been open for thirty years and my first thoughts were, so long! Peter Murray was in the process of setting up YSP during my year at the college. (I was doing art then and not geography.)

We had a lovely walk in the sun, down the hill towards the Camelia House and then on towards the lake. They've been doing some extensive work opening up the view of the lake by clearing the willow withies and the scrub. In many ways a great improvement for people but not for wildlife. This area has always been the domain of the Yorkshire Wildlife Trust and in the past only members were allowed access.

My dad walked further today than he has in recent times and it was good to see him managing a longer walk.

A new exhibition by the Spanish sculptor, Jaume Plensa, opens shortly and some very interesting work is being placed in the grounds. A gallery under the grassed area will contain many more examples of his work. It will be good to return later in April when the gallery opens.

This is not the best photo that I've taken today, but it captures the essence of what I wanted to write about. I tried creating a collage which didn't work, so I will upload other images to my Flickr site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.