My Angle

By myangle

Seagull

While I was shooting yesterdays blip I came under the scrutiny of a number of seagulls thinking they might get a handout. I photographed a few against the cloudy sky and was very pleased with the results. Unfortunately (or fortunately) I had already captured my image of the day with the pelicans. So, I went back today along with Jo and some bread to attract the birds.

It turned out to be a lot more difficult than I expected. I have always known that the servo focus on my 300D is nowhere near as good as my old film 50D. I persevered though, directing Jo where to throw the bread. 30 some shots later and I ended up using the very first image I shot.

I was hoping that the pelicans would come along but the few that were around stayed away. Maybe I should make it my mission this week to try and get a decent shot of a pelican in flight.

Time for a nap before work.

********************************************************************************

Post Nap Edit:

Today is a significant Day in Australia. Our Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd, made good on an election promise and officially sai sorry to the Aboriginal Stolen Generation. It is an issue that has stirred up great emotion in Australians on both sides of the "say sorry" fence. I was just glad I had a chance to see a moment in history.

It is an apology that prominent Aboriginals and members of the stolen generation have been seeking for a long time. Many former Prime Ministers were there to mark the occasions but significantly, John Howard who was defeated in the election late last year, didn't attend.

One thing I was disappointed in was that the leader of the opposition party made a speech as well. It sort of turned the occasion into yet another exercise in political one-upmanship. I think that the elected Prime Minister speaks for all elected officials on a day of such significance. Especially because up until very recently the opposition party refused to entertian the idea of saying sorry. Funny what a landslide election defeat can do to you eh?

Post Nap Rant Over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.