My Angle

By myangle

Wet Pelicans

Where would I be without Photoshop? Here is the original image.

It is hard to know when to stop editing, or sometimes if to edit at all. To put things into a little perspective, 8 years ago I was making a living in a prolab hand printing cibachrome (high quality prints from slides). The only tools I had those days were a few filters in my enlarger and my hands. Never would I have been able to change an image as much as this.

What I am trying to say is that I love how Photoshop opens up new artistic avenues. It really is the biz. Like my hand printing, I have developed my own techniques and ways of manipulating images which I like. Sometimes Mrs Angle doesn't like the end results though!

Then I get an image like this one where I push my boundaries a little bit. I am very pleased with the finished result.

Here is how it all happened.

Today has been wet and windy. I took a break from painting the kitchen and took a quick drive along the waterfront. I didn't hold out much hope of getting a decent blip. Then I spotted these pelicans (and one LBJ) all facing into the wind, occasionally grooming themselves. My thoughts were "done deal". So I found a spot where I was semi-protected from the driving rain, put the camera on the tripod and snapped off 20 or so photos.

I had to restrain myself from looking at, and working on them until my dinner break at work. Too many things to do in between.

Todays blip is just another angle of the much photographed Wynnum Harbour entrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.