Goodbye!

You all know I like to share a bit about my life and also about the photography techniques I use. At work they also know I am into photography and they know I'm on blipfoto.

The client we are working for also knows this and they want to use one of my pictures for a web portal we are developing for them. In itself that's a great honour. Except: the client is claiming they can just use the picture without compensation or even my permission. Their reasoning is as follows:

1. They are already paying my salary.
2. They have hired me through my employer and it's in my contract that everything I invent automatically belongs to my employer.
3. Since I took the picture they want at the time they hired me, everything I invent belongs to them.
4. Any creative work (like a photograph) is an 'invention'.

My manager seems to be on the client's side on this one. So after working all these extra hours the last couple of months they are now also taking the stuff I 'invented' in the little spare time I still have.

Needless to say, I'm very unhappy about this and I see only two options: quitting my job or not publishing any more photos. I can't afford the first option so the second one it will be. This means that this will be my last blip. And by taking a picture of the microwave door I think I made sure that this image will not be of interest to either the company I work for or one of its clients.

It's been loads of fun being part of the blipfoto community and I don't want to leave, but I guess this is goodbye...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.