Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sunrise at National Park Veluwezoom

Sunrise at National Park Veluwezoom, with the Posbank monument beyond.

Ever since Martine booked a weekend at the Avegoor Estate (backblip from yesterday), I realized this was extremely close to Posbank, a location where hills were formed during the Saalian Stage (or Saalien in Dutch) when glaciers covered a large part of The Netherlands. This would be a rare opportunity to photograph a small part of The Netherlands that isn't entirely flat... But how would Martine feel about this? I was uncertain... I organized a poll on Twitter and my friends were not helping in any way with answers ranging from "do you really want to risk your marriage?" to "of course you should take your gear; she'll get used to it".

Luckily Martine was OK with me going out at silly 'o clock, as long as I would let her sleep and we would still have breakfast together. I contacted my friend Joop van Aerts, who I met during the landscape photography masterclass in Zeeland last year. He lives close to the Posbank and not only provided me with an exact location, but he also showed up in person. Thanks Joop, it was good to see you again and I had lots of fun this morning. Another fun aspect of this morning was the fact that we were in touch with Ton, Niels, Herman and Peter who were capturing the sunrise at the same time as Joop and I, but on a totally different location.

This photo was taken exactly at sunrise; you can see the top of the sun already above the horizon. Best viewed bigger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.