Cardboard Sleeves

There has been a trend among desperate record labels recently, keen to halt the decline in CD sales, to package five original albums in facsimile cardboard CD sleeves, put them in a box and sell them for around £10-15 (I would guess that they go for a similar figure in dollars). I have acquired a few of these new editions of some of my well-loved oldies in the last few months - Wilson Pickett, Everly Brothers, Ray Charles - and today the postman brought me these early albums by Emmylou Harris and the Hot Band. I had the pleasure of seeing them live a few times, first with James Burton, who like several of the band had toured with Elvis, and later with his replacement, our own Albert Lee on guitar, when they recorded an Old Grey Whistle Test concert at the TV Theatre in London's Shepherds Bush in 1977. Can you see me in the audience?

Aah, Emmylou...

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm

Tulsa Queen

One Year Ago: Silbury Hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.