Out of the undergrowth

My Punga ferns have grown. The old parking meter used to stand tall on it's pole, now it's hidden but encroaching ferns.

Not surprisingly no one leaves me any money though most stop to comment and laughingly offer ;-)

It's cold and damp out. Definitely a change in seasons and weather.

In the time it's taken me to blip thus far two aftershocks have rumbled through. No change there.

Dr B came round for dinner. We shared a fresh flounder yesterday's one of yesterday's hunters sent me home with. I have another cray fish (lobster) in the freezer. Yum.

All were caught well beyond the reach of our soiled coast line. Sadly our shattered sewer and waste water systems discharge into the Avon and Heathcote rivers which flow through Christchurch and into the sea. The sewer ponds are badly damaged and are limping at 30% - 40% capacity. It's a mess.

Life goes on and there are things to do on the house earthquakes have interrupted. Early before work tomorrow I'll be taking down my kitchen blinds and delivering them a business who will resize and clean them for me. Drop off is 7am and I'll view a slice of the city I haven't seen post-quake. Then it's home to bike to work.

I'll pick the blinds up late tomorrow and my neighbour will help me fit them inside the window frames (instead of on the outside) before dark tomorrow. All preparation for fitting a new range hood.

If I stop to think about a new range hood, having the exterior of the house painted in a couple of weeks and new curtains, it starts to feel surreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.