Plus ça change...

By SooB

Thieving (from) Magpie

Mr B headed into town early for a very complicated haircut. We stayed home and did school, leaning against the glass doors glowering at the rain, more school, a little baking; and finally I accepted that it was time to get on with the list of phone calls to France.

I really hope my nervousness about speaking French on the phone goes away pretty soon (actually, it's more the listening than the speaking that's the problem) or the next few years could be very stressful indeed. First, our new Maire to ask for advice about schools. He recommended a private school in the village, which seemed an odd thing for a public official to do - but what do I know - and said to pop in for a coffee next time I'm in the area. (How nice - Fife Council have never asked me round for coffee.)

Next the local education officer at the big town, where they do have state schools (none in our village). She is my new best friend (Denise is her name) and she also invited me round, though I suspect that was more for the purposes of handing over birth certificates than for coffee, but we'll see. She cheered me up no end by laughing in what sounded like a really genuine way at one of my lame jokes.

With Mr B and new haircut safely home, and the chocolate brownies wrapped up, it was time to head in for a large and very friendly blipmeet in Edinburgh. I was determined that this time I would take loads of shots, but didn't quite manage - anyway the green wallpaper in there plays havoc with my white balance. Lots of new (to me) blippers and a perfect opportunity to show no originality whatsoever and just steal someone else's blip. Ta Maggers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.