Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Cupboard Doors

A strange day.

The day on which my best friend from childhood would have been 40 had she not died of cancer aged 33.

A day on which I felt low, and sad about what happened with the job.

The day on which school rang me up to summon me in for a meeting, which was scheduled for Wednesday this week.

A day on which I ate 2 tins of custard and a bag of Maltesers for lunch, not exactly the healthy option I know.

A day on which I picked myself up, spent the afternoon at Scharwenka's, then went to the Wonderspouse's "Not The Oxford Literary Festival" evening of readings and music in the evening.

The day on which my Dad and Stepmum drove all the way from Yorkshire to hear the Wonderspouse read and to take us out for supper afterwards.

The day on which "The Big Bang" in Oxford introduced their Royal Wedding special sausage, the "Royal Pork in Cider"!!!

The day on which I took a photo of these really groovy cupboard doors in the Albion Beatnik bookshop, where the reading evening took place.

I so wish we owned a house - we could paint all the walls in fabulous designs. As it is, we're stuck with "Landlord Magnolia", which we cover with posters to relieve the boredom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.