Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Water Feature

They've been digging up the road into town for quite a while now. Apparently it's some kind of "keyhole surgery" for replacing water mains. If this is the "keyhole" version, I'm glad they're not going in for the full "slice open & spread the chest" procedure, because we've already had weeks of temporary traffic lights and so on!

One of the more entertaining parts of this work is the constant river that we now have racing down the side of the road. This is one of the sources of that river! No wonder the water companies struggle with "leakage" - and there we were, worrying that our tap was dripping!

Writing this the morning after because I was simply too ill to blip yesterday. My mental state finally went into meltdown. I did manage to attend my appointment with the lady who's helping me with my return to work. She was so worried that she wondered whether to call my GP and see whether she could get me an earlier appointment than the one I have booked. She's also asked me to call her today to check I'm OK.

I wasn't really OK yesterday. I did manage to do the urgent shopping - it took me an hour of distracted and confused wondering around in Tesco to purchase a pint of milk and a tin of catfood (I'm startlingly inefficient when I feel that ill), but apart from that and my appointment I spent most of the day underneath my blanket on the sofa, asleep. I don't know whether it was blanket weather or not, but I needed to hide and needed the comfort.

I only started to improve late last night when the Wonderspouse decreed that I most certainly wasn't well enough to go to the meeting at school. He is going to e-mail them and let them know. Another of my symptoms of illness is that I develop a complete inability to make decisions - even "would you like a cup of tea?" can leave me flummoxed, confused and bring me to tears - what hope do I have with "could you teach part-time?" "how are you going to pay the bills next month with no income?" and so on?

So, school will have to wait. I have been granted an extension on my maths assignments by my OU tutor. I shall play my viola for as long as possible (currently about 10 minutes before exhaustion sets in). Finances will have to wait, and we'll just have to eat from Waitrose when we can't buy food anywhere else (I have a John Lewis card that is our last source of credit in emergencies), and I'll worry about bills when they happen - at the moment, even just thinking about such stuff makes me feel sick and sends my mind into meltdown.

The Wonderspouse is being amazing as usual. This week he's organized a reading evening, is finishing his old job, starting his new job, looking after me (AGAIN, poor soul), e-mailing school and so on for me, clearing up a constant supply of poo & wee from Smudge (who has given up using cat litter for some feline reason we don't understand - probably connected to her untreatable thyroid illness), cooking all our food, and still saying he loves me!

Furthermore, he only has plain pasta for lunch today (Wednesday) because Felix got onto the stove last night and ate the sauce he would have had for his lunch!

This "life" business is SUCH hard work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.