Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Fantastic Performance!

Backblipped on 19th April 2012

Tonight we went to one of the BEST concerts I've ever been to. Absolutely BRILLIANT!

The programme was:
Mozart - Symphony No.25
Bruch - Violin Concerto No.1
Beethoven - Symphony No.4

and the Academy of St Martin in the Fields was directed from the violin by Joshua Bell, who was also the soloist in the Bruch.

We had a slow morning at home, then headed off to London and went for a very pleasant walk up and down the King's Road, before settling into our seats at Cadogan Hall. The place was festooned with microphones, since the concert was being broadcast live on BBC Radio 3, and Petroc Trelawny did his announcing from the stage - having already given us the "make special care to turn your phones off because we're on the radio" speech!

The Mozart, one of my favourite pieces ever (I even sequenced the exposition of the first movement for my MIDI assignment when I did my PGCE - nobody had done a Mozart Symphony before, but I was terribly insistent), was fantastic - energetic, lively, and spellbinding. I thought the concert couldn't get any better, until the Bruch, which was utterly magical. I certainly rate Joshua Bell as one of my favourite violinsts to watch - ever.

Usually, when I watch concerts, and even quite good professional musicians perform, I know that, given different circumstances, and a lot of practice, I could do what they do. I know I could slot into the viola section of most orchestras without too much difficulty (the Berlin Phil being a notable exception), and, with some work, I could even make a passable rank and file violinist.

However, I could NEVER imagine playing like JB played the Bruch tonight. Not in my wildest dreams, not if I practised until my fingers wore away completely. The agility on the fingerboard, the magic of the music, and directing the orchestra to boot, was just fantastic! WOW!

After the interval we had the Beethoven, which was also wonderful. I'd say it's one of my favourite Beethoven Symphonies, but I could say that about ALL the Beethoven Symphonies - they're ALL my favourites!

The only non-music event to record is that an old lady in the stalls was taken ill during the second movement and removed from the auditorium!

Then it was back home, for the usual post-gig cheese on toast!

But what a concert. What an amazing evening. I thought when I booked it that it might be a good one, but it was more than good, it was fantastic!

Josh is a great choice to take over the ASMIF from Sir Neville - I can't imagine it'll be the last time I go and see them. Great band, great concert, great evening, and absolutely superlative violin playing!!!

Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.