Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

anonymous shellfish collector.

In search of more dissertation fodder I headed to Ile de Ré, where many of the oysters in La Rochelle come from. The day gradually warmed up and hit a peak of about 28 degrees at about 2 o'clock on Ile de Ré. The setting was perfect for my research. I got off at the first town which sat by the sea. The tide was out and you could see the oysters banks. Long lines of metal cages jutted out from the muddy sand and tractors weaved in between the lines.

Up on the roadside was a local restaurant and shop that sold the oysters from the beach. The oysters themselves were actually processed next door by the oyster farmers. They were then bought and sold by the restaurant. I went into the restaurant and asked for an interview. The manager/owner was really kind and showed me around the business which included small holding bays out the back to keep the oysters fresh. I got a good 10 minute interview from her but sat in the actual restaurant talking to her and one of the chefs for half an hour. I even got a free coke!

Next step was to try and get an interview with the farmers next door to see their perspective. I walked right on into the factory and asked but understandably they were too busy, either working on the conveyor belt chipping at the shells or cracking them from the metal cages they have grown in. Despite having no time for an interview they were very friendly and helpful. They gave me directions to another factory on Ile de Ré that might have more time for me. Unfortunately I don't have a car and it was quite a way away. So I headed home instead. I expect my sunburn to start coming through any time now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.