Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"Trust me........

.........." said the press photographer just before this image was taken. I had commented that standing so near to a wide angle lens did not usually produce a very flattering portrait. When the picture was published in today's local rag, I had other things to worry about.

According the the paper I am a War Baby born in Gilsland Spa during the War when pregnant mothers from Newcastle were moved to the countryside to give birth in safety. Since my parents met after the War and I was born in 1952 I am not too keen on the extra years they have given me. Perhaps it is my whiteblonde hair that confused him.

We had good coverage for our War Babies event on May 5th, all part of (yes you've guessed it) Haltwhistle Walking Festival

TV item not broadcast yet. What can they say to top this??

PS None of the other walkers are War Babies either - they are members of our regular Wednesday walking group who were asked to participate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.