Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Wastwater, Wasdale Valley, Lake District, England

- Backblip -

Lake District : Day 5

We had been planning a visit here if the weather was favourable. It was, and a good time of year to visit this beautiful place, not many tourists around, which made it much easier driving along the single track road with passing places. The view shows the Great Gable in the distance and a little of The Screes on the right. The Lake is three miles long, half a mile wide and is the deepest lake in England (258 feet). The area is looked after by the National Trust.

My first real go with filters. I set up my tripod and used a screw on polarising filter and a GG2 (gradual gradient) Kood filter. I remembered to turn off the Image Stabilisation. I also set my camera to delay the shot by two seconds, to minimise any camera shake. I did try some shots nearer the water, with a gorse bush in the foreground. I nearly posted one of these images, until I realised the gorse was out of focus due to the slow shutter speed. It was windy. The things you have to think about when trying to get a landscape shot with a foreground, middle and background. I am quite pleased with my first go at this kind of image.

We drove on to the head of the lake, and walked along the shoreline to the start of the screeruns, and then a little way up the path to Scafell Pike (England's highest mountain). #1 is planning to climb this in the summer, and we reckon the path from this side is preferable to the one from Langdale.

F

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.