Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Sunshine and Texture

Well I've just uploaded this and now Noah has started shouting for me so I can't write any more for a while...see you soon.

I'm back. Had a bit of a ranty day today!

I wrote a polite-but-stroppy letter (at least I hope it was polite) on behalf of a dyslexic teenager being failed by the education system.

As is so often the case this teen is bright, quiet, and non-disruptive. The first time I saw him he was exhibiting all the signs of dyslexia. His mum said the school had told her he wasn't (no tests had been carried out at this point!). I wrote stroppy letter number one and he was assessed and the diagnosis confirmed. He also has a binocular vision problem and a focussing problem which compounds the processing difficulties of his dyslexia.

So he got extra help at school and specs to ameliorate some of his visual difficulties and all was well. Now he tells me (and his mum confirms it) that his extra help has been removed because...and I quote, 'He's cured.' Excuse me...when did dyslexia become a curable condition? He has to copy information from the whiteboard and the combination of his dyslexia and his focussing problems means that he gets just half way through copying something and they change the information because he's too slow. He and his mother asked for printed handouts and were told...and I quote, 'No...if we do it for him we'll have to do it for everyone else.' Neither is he being given the extra time he should be allotted in exams.

Well very stroppy letter number two went out today, copied to the head and the SENCO and his GP and I hope that we can sort something out for him but, not for the first time this month, I've been left wanting to punch a teacher! (Apologies to all Blipping teachers, I'm sure that you're all terrific people and would never be such sh*tty little jobsworths).

The photo has nothing to do with the write-up but I love these 'Fried Egg Daffs' and bright bokeh and I was itching to use one of my textures and the whole thing makes me feel happy and less violent towards the teaching profession...which can only be a good thing.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.