fovea centralis

By fovea

day 5

Dear viewers,

Did you know my kitchen has magnetic cabinets? Well it does. It was a bonus feature that I randomly discovered. (Score!) Anyway, last year I was suppose to ride my bike from Austin, Texas to Anchorage, Alaska with 53 other students from University of Texas to fight against cancer (yes you read that right, TX to AK, 4500 miles in 70 days);see the UT student's group main page here at: Texas 4000 for Cancer. This year the organization paired up with LiveStrong and is in its 8th year! It is a pretty incredible feat that college students pull off every year. Please spend some time looking around the website and consider donating.

Anyway, I got into an academic program at started earlier than I had anticipated; so I couldn't go on the 70 day ride. Well not all of it. I ending up riding the first day and the last ten days. I did about 800 miles. That doesn't include all the training miles and preparation time spend during the year prior. So onward to my point...

One of my best friends who was doing the ride loves the mail, loves sending and receiving post cards; some of you know her , well she told me she would send me a postcard for each day of the ride, even the days that I rode. She actually sent 4 complete sets of postcards out during the ride. It was incredible. And with bonus kitchen feature I was able to cover my entire cabinets with postcards from the ride, actually I ran out of space and magnets. But the postcard from day 5 is one of my favorites.

I am trying to get a great shot of all the posts cards up, but tonight it wasn't happening. Don't worry. I'll try again.

KFlo: I love you; you are such a wonderful friend. Thank you!

goodnight blippers!
L

day 5 postcard: Joanna Davis/Cover art for McSweeney's 16 2005

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.