While on my runs

By waipushrink

Spoiled for choice

Predawn start to my run this morning. When I reached the corner with Ponsonby Road where K Road "takes over" from Great North Road I decided to try a photograph of the famous antinuclear mural. Ultimately dissatisfied with what I got.

Especially with this evening's sunset, which was one of the greatest I have had the pleasure of watching. For 20 minutes I watched, and took photographs. After loading the 30 photos onto the iMac I had the pleasurable, if difficult, task of choosing one to post. They ranged from the sun still above the horizon through to where the colour was in a broad almost universal band just above the horizon.

This is my choice. The swirly clouds of ten minutes before are missing; that is more than compensated for (in my opinion) by the herring bone streak of red tinged cloud. The appearance of rays of sunlight is still present, although more tentative than earlier. The city lights show up where they had not; the reflected light in the water of the upper harbour sealed it for me. The beautiful blue green of the sky between and "above" the clouds persists to this stage of the sunset.

Forced choice requires that I am strong and do not vacillate. Here it is, and it compares more than favourably with my last post of a sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.