Last one standing

Came up to the beach last night with the two boys; rather late for two tired boys. They slept well, and were up and active fairly early. So I put off my run, and looked after them. They had a good morning with puzzles, and electronic gadgetry.

Much of the day I have spent reading the background information for the meeting next week, when not distracted by the boys. Took a break about 4 pm, and left for a run. When I got down to Snells Beach waterfront, I was greeted by a group of herons in the receding water. Very alert and watching the walkers and me. As I approached first one took flight, then another, then a couple more, and then in twos and threes until all had gone.

Except for this one. It was actually off by itself , initially, and chose not to fly away. I have often seen a solitary heron at this end of the beach, and wonder if this is it.

I chose this picture over the group ones, because of that feeling of familiarity. And because the clarity of the focus with the little camera is better than in any of the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.