Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

From Half A Life Ago

Half a life ago, I was a volunteer girls softball coach for few years. My brother, Andy, was my assistant. I was the brains behind the operations as I had played in HS and college - I was one heck of a catcher back then - had a gun of an arm.

I digress. We came from a big town, Hamburg, NY, so we played with the "big boys" in the county, the AA teams, This was the Championship ball from 1979 in which we defeated the big, bad Town of Amherst - the big, fancy, dancy town north of Buffalo (and our biggest rival) 8 to 5 at Como Park.

This was the High School Division. We also won the Pre-High School Division.

We won both of them in the three years I coached the teams...1978, 1979 and 1980. I only have three balls from the six of those games and none of the trophies. The Town of Hamburg Recreation Director kept them, as if he was the one who went out and did all the hard work. But I got the memories.

From half a life ago...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.