Eternal Procrastinator

By TheEternalProcrastinator

I Recognise The Face Behind The Mask

The Photo
This is something I did a long time ago...I tried it out and thought it looked pretty funky, but never got round to doing it again.


Try and guess which side of my face is made up and which isn't! Haha! Joking. It's fairly obvious.

I'm the first to admit, I hide behind a mask. The only people I'm comfortable to see me without make up are my boyfriend and my family.
I think you can probably see, physically, why.
I'm definitely not comfortable with the way I look without make up. There's something relaxing about covering my face. A balaclava of make up, if you will. It acts in the same way. It does hide my true identity.
I'm a different person when I put my make up on. Confident. I'm probably like most women about really.
I think it's because I associate make up with a confident persona. My work persona, I guess.
Ask anyone. I was a different person at work. I was a sales person and that requires a massive amount of confidence and resillience. I'm not naturally that person. I'm the kind of person who sits behind a book, minding my own business and not outwardly talking to people. That's the natural me.
When I'm in the 'work persona' I'm made up, confident, talkative...

So this is my two sides. Mish-mashed, but I'm a gemini so I guess that's why the two sides work in unison. I prefer my work persona. Definitely. The made up look.
My boyfriend says I look at my best in the morning, no make up except for panda eyes. I can't stand it.
I guess that's what comes with growing up.

The Day
So I got a phone call this morning.
A gentleman called Christian. He was from the resources department of the company that interviewed me last week.
We went through the usual pleasantries.
He asked me how I thought my interview had gone.
I told him that I thought it had gone well and that I got on with the interviewers well.
He asked me if I wanted to know what they thought. I, of course, said yes.
'You were friendly, warm and perfect for the job'. I waited for the 'But...'
'They couldn't fault you'. Still waiting for the 'But...'
'And we want to offer you the job.'
I may have audibly said 'OH MY GOD!' to which he responded 'I take that as a yes!' :)

So as some of you already know, I've got a job! I'm so excited. I don't have a start date yet as they have to go through two weeks of background checks first. But it's a start! They've ordered my work shirt. Bless him on the phone ('I hope you don't mind, but what size are you?'). I can't wait to start.

Thanks for everyone whose been checking. Now you know and you can uncross your fingers. I've bet you've all got cramp.

Tomorrow, I'm off bowling with my boyfriend, his brother and our friend and then to an ex-colleague's leaving do.

Thanks again to you all :)

A xx

'I recognize the face behind the mask. It's a devil's disguise - Angel in black' - Behind The Mask - Fleetwood Mac

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.