Mangawhai Heads again

A beautiful day here in Mangawhai (unlike Christchurch by all accounts).

Last night, at 5.50 pm, I was on the second floor of the airport when a big 5.3 aftershock hit. It was the first time I had been in a two storey building for an earthquake and it was a pretty freaky experience. My biggest surprise was that no-one mentioned it over the loud speaker at the airport. Have we really become that blase?

Anyway, I got the flight on time and it was all pretty easy.

This morning, we got up and walked into the village, where we grabbed coffee and brunch at the local cafe - the Frog and Kiwi.

Then we went for a drive and a brief walk. So many opportunities to take so many photographs but this was my favourite of the day. A real Barking Signature Shot.

Anyway, Upwords with D and U (I lost spectacularly!) and then a late night. Pretty tired but I've had a wonderfully relaxing day.

Night one and all.

Till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.