Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Apple Blossom, Broad Beans and Field Beans

A morning spent sorting out finances and totalising current assets and an afternoon in the allotment attempting to plant my broad beans that have gotten decidedly leggy, even though they've been outside for the last fortnight.

I grew them in root trainers this year which has produced very successful root growth but because so many of the plants are packed together in the tray they have definitely reached upwards for the sky. So some very floppy beans as a result. I need to check out whether I can pinch them out now. The packet says after the first flowers have set but I'm wondering if it would help them to become more study plants if I made the vital snip tomorrow.

The coverings are to keep the wind off as much as possible, I'm less worried about frost.

The field beans have been grown as green manure and are now ready to be dug in. And the apple blossom just looked lovely.

Just back from a very enjoyable Indian meal at Dil Raj, a restaurant about three miles away. A quick look at blip and then bed.

I've just discovered that this blip fits the new 2011 challenge `growth' - what a coincidence!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.