SueScape

By SueScape

Serenissima

Been a bit of a sculpture week. I blipped another Phillip Jackson sculpture some time ago. There is a gallery nearby which has some of his work in their courtyard. We were there today for an art exhibition but still to me the most impressive items were the PJ sculptures. What he says with body language is amazing.

The statues are often robed or masked [or both] and reminiscent of Venice, and I believe La Serenissima was a name for the Repulbic of Venice, literally meaning 'the most serene'. These figures affect me differently on different days, but often I do feel serene just looking at them. The raised hand looks a little as if one of them is caught unawares. The Phillip Jackson website says 'hauntingly elegant' and I would agree with that too.

They are bronze of course and imposing at 2.5m tall.

Amazingly lucky to live in an area where there is so much sculpture on view for the public, at no cost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.