Glencoe

Did a very brave thing today - went up the open ski lift in Glencoe. Almost reached the snowline though we lost the sunshine and the temperature went from 12 degrees in Glencoe village to minus3.9 degrees at the top of the lift. Actually it was only the midpoint, the top lift for skiers wasn't open. Even though we were dressed for it, it was cold! Too cold to text and tell everyone my success:)

We mooched about a bit and took pix, intending to walk back down. The clouds started to look ominous, a few hailstones and snow flakes started drifting in and we got back on the chair lift. I like the sensation of going down even less than going up, my stomach clenches and I have to hold on with both hands.

But cups of tea and millionaire's shortbread at Castle Stalker tearoom [excdellent] on the way home put me to rights, and not only that, I now have bragging rights for overcoming my fears. Next time I'll go up Nevis and take the gondola - it's closed in and will suit me better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.