Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Place to Park

Just as I return to the Blipfoto fold, the temperature in Jacksonville decides to soar into the upper 80s -- 89 degrees today. Oh well, it's better than the cold.

Spotted this bicycle parked out side the Park Place Lounge on King Street and was immediately drawn to the reflection in the door to the bar.

Crossed the road and was taking some pictures outside Walker's wine bar when the owner, Scott, came out and we got talking. We had a mutual friend a year back before she moved to Colorado. Truth of the matter is, she had the hots for him.

Anyway he invited me in for a glass of wine at his expense. I settled on a nice Rioja and got chatting to him and a girl called Allie from livingsocial, some kind of web-based marketing company.

I said to Scott that his wall would look nice with a few of my photographic prints adorning it and promptly handed him my card. He smiled. I also handed a card to Allie.

We chatted for a bit and then I let them get on with business and chatted to the barperson, I guess it is not politically correct these days to call them barmaids. Kelly was a pleasant enough girl who works at the wine bar in between taking a degree in accounting at the University of North Florida.

These days I can never be quite sure whether young women feign interest in my conversation out of politeness, when in reality they are bored to tears. After 10 minutes, I decided I would not overstay my welcome. Besides, she was trying to work on a class paper before the evening rush began.

So, all in all, it was quite a social afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.