Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Birthplace!

Apparently today is the day that is usually celebrated as Shakespeare's birthday, although nobody really knows WHEN he was born. He also, rather conveniently, died on the 23rd April, so it's a good excuse for lots of junketings and so on anyway!

So, 447 years ago, Mrs Shakespeare (senior) arrived at the appropriate place for giving birth to a bard, but then found herself, in labour, waters broken, trudging 40 metres to the Visitors' Centre in order to get into the place! I'm at least pleased to report that she didn't have to stop, get out her marker pen, and move the apostrophe on the sign (as she would have had to have done with many signs around the place these days), so she must have been thankful for that! ;-)

We'd planned a trip to Stratford (upon-Avon, not upon-Central-Line (as my mate Maud calls the one in East London)) for this weekend in any case. I wanted to see whether my soap man was on the market (he was, so I have replenished my soap stores with his gorgeous scented soap that doesn't make my skin go itchy), and I had a few other jobs to do (topping up my phone, going to the bank, posting some post and so on) so it seemed like a good idea. We went fairly early so we could avoid the afternoon crowds and not get caught up in a whole load of bardish birthday celebrations!

We had a lovely couple of hours wandering about in the sunshine! Stratford was fairly full, but I found a parking spot easily, and we wandered about fairly freely.

And the sunshine is absolutely GLORIOUS! Beautiful. T-shirt and shorts are the order of the day!

Now we're home and it'll be an afternoon spent resting and doing a few jobs.

All very relaxed and holidayish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.