Capital adventures

By marchmont

I to the hills - last day of house sitting

Growing up in Colinton my bedroom window faced Allermuir and the Pentlands and I gazed every day on almost this same view. For me it was 'I to the hills, will lift mine eyes' (from whence doth come mine aid). Today's blip was taken on a beautiful Easter Sunday morning, with the last gasp of the camera battery. It's cropped, but you can see the 'T' wood, planted and named for the Trotter family who owned so much of the surrounding land.

It's the first Easter Sunday for at least 5 years that I've managed to get to church - 2007 we were at Jenny's wedding in Luss (joyous), 2008 (stressful) and 2009 (v stressful) in Montgaillard, 2010 in Timaru, NZ. (autumnal). But today was a beautiful morning and I took mum to Marchmont St Giles. We started in the garden, letting off balloons with Easter greetings. If you live in Edinburgh, towards the east, maybe you'll find one and let MSG know how far it has reached. Then there was baptism, lovely singing, Mozart's 'Ave Verum' (I've sung it so many times), Communion and Easter posies. No camera battery and leaving the phone on the kitchen table means memories, not blips.

Back for a quick coffee then packed up in Fairmilehead, ready for the return home - so many bags, all to go up 3 flights of stairs.

To-night we had a family meal - #2 and #3 sons and F. Was good to be here together - of course #1 son, #1 daughter in law to be and my sons' dad were all missing. I suppose half a family is better than .....

P.S. and I DID get a Thornton's egg - thanks #3 son and F, much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.